God Grant Me The Serenity.

God grant me the Serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the Courage to change the things I can, and the Wisdom to know the difference.

The first time I really remember hearing and remembering this prayer was at a high school youth group retreat in 2001.  Everyone received a little teal blue card with ‘The Serenity Prayer’ on it, and it’s been with me on my nightstand or taped to my desk ever since, no matter where I’ve lived.

image

I couldn’t at the time pinpoint exactly what it was that drew me to it, but as I’ve grown up and become more self-aware (and honest with myself), it HAS to do something with the fact that I’m a control freak.  Not as much now as I was in my teens to mid 20s, but it’s definitely still in me – just to a lesser degree now.  And I think this prayer has a lot to do with it.

It crosses my mind when I’m frustrated or worried or upset with just about anything – friends, family, spouse, work, etc.  And it forces me to not only realize and remember that I cannot control everything around me, but also think ‘do I really NEED or WANT to control things’?  The answer a lot of times now is no.  There are far more important things to focus on, so I change my attitude about whatever it is and move on.

In my opinion, life is just way too short and flies by way too fast to live any other way.

Cheers!

SMR

Leave a Reply

