Music Monday: Fight Like A Girl

It’s never too late for New Years resolutions, right?

Life…it ebbs and flows, right?  Lots of changes over the last couple months for this gal, but now that I feel like the waters are a bit calmer for the time being, time to get back to the fun stuff, like writing on this blog.  Not only #findingthehappy, but choosing the happy.  BIG difference between the two.  Think about it…I know I have this year 🙂

Anyway, time for Music Monday!

I heard this song for the first time a couple weeks ago, and it resonated with me for several reasons.  The general mood of the song fits me well – mix of sassy and sweet, with confidence and a ‘don’t you doubt me’ attitude.  And the second verse is just perfection – little but loud (ummm…PREACH), tell without a doubt I’m my mama’s daughter (truth…I’m a total mini-me).

The music video isn’t my fave, but I like the tune – click the link at the bottom of this post.  Lyrics are pasted below (from genius.com).

Perhaps it will remind you of someone in your life 🙂

Kalie Shorr – “Fight Like A Girl”

He’s calling out my name, says Iʼm just a featherweight
He thinks the slightest breeze could blow me over
But what he doesn’t know, is Iʼve got a slingshot and a stone
And I can win with no one in my corner
So donʼt you even try to hold me back

[Chorus]
I got my high heels on with my boxing gloves
I can knock you out with a one two punch
Iʼm perfume sweet and whiskey strong
I damn sure ainʼt no underdog
I might fall down, but I get back up
I shine brightest when the goingʼs tough
You say I canʼt, well darling watch me
You canʼt stop me
Cause I fight like a girl

Iʼm little but Iʼm loud, just wanna make my mama proud
And you can tell without a doubt that Iʼm her daughter
She raised me to believe that I can be anything
So when you push me I’ll just push back harder

[Chorus]
I got my high heels on with my boxing gloves
I can knock you out with a one two punch
Iʼm perfume sweet and whiskey strong
I damn sure ainʼt no underdog
I might fall down, but I get back up
I shine brightest when the goingʼs tough
You say I canʼt, well darling watch me
You canʼt stop me
Cause I fight like a girl

I fight tough, I fight hard, I fight fair
Wonʼt stop fighting til I get there
No I ainʼt afraid to cry
Everybodyʼs gotta feel something sometimes
I fight tough, I fight hard, I fight fair
Wonʼt stop fighting til I get there
I ainʼt afraid to cry
I ainʼt afraid to fight

[Chorus]
I got my high heels on with my boxing gloves
I can knock you out with a one two punch
Iʼm perfume sweet and whiskey strong
I damn sure ainʼt no underdog
I might fall down, but I get back up
And I shine brightest when the goingʼs tough
You say I canʼt, well darling watch me
You canʼt stop me
Cause I fight like a girl

I fight tough, I fight hard, I fight fair
Wonʼt stop fighting til I get there
No I ainʼt afraid to cry
I fight like a girl 

http://www.cmt.com/videos/kalie-shorr/1357219/fight-like-a-girl.jhtml#id=1739679

Cheers!

SMR

 

One thought on “Music Monday: Fight Like A Girl

Leave a Reply

