Music Monday! I Turn To You

I love love love the 90’s and 00’s Sirius XM channels.  Soooo many high school and college flashbacks.  And for me, music can immediately evoke memories or feelings or remind me of certain people or situations.  Heck, sometimes I feel like actually I think in song lyrics 🙂

I’ve been in the car more than usual the past week or so, and I heard Christina Aguilera’s “I Turn To You” on my beloved 90’s channel.  I believe it was one of her first few releases when she came onto the music scene, and I dig it.  It is absolutely a MUST sing-along for me and on my sometimes-you-just-gotta-belt-out-a-killer-power-ballad-when-you’re-alone-in-the-car playlist.

I think one of the reasons I love it is because it a timeless song to me.  The lyrics are so applicable to any number of relationships, friendships, etc.  I can honestly say I think of a few different people when I hear it – those who I personally can turn to.

Here are the lyrics and a cheesy 90s music video 🙂

“I Turn To You” by Christina Aguilera

When I’m lost, in the rain,
in your eyes I know I’ll find the light to light my way.
When I’m scared, losing ground, when my world is going crazy,
You can turn it all around.
And when I’m down you’re there pushing me to the top.
You’re always there giving me all you’ve got.

(Chorus)
For a shield from the storm, for a friend, for a love to keep me safe and warm, I turn to you.
For the strength to be strong, for the will to carry on,
For everything you do, for everything that’s true, I turn to you.

When I lose the will to win, I just reach for you and I can reach the sky again.
I can do anything, ’cause your love is so amazing, Cause your love inspires me.
And when I need a friend you’re always on my side,
Giving me faith to get me through the night.

(Chorus)
For a shield from the storm, for a friend, for a love to keep me safe and warm, I turn to you.
For the strength to be strong, for the will to carry on,
For everything you do, for everything that’s true, I turn to you.

For the arms to be my shelter through all the rain.
For truth that will never change.
For someone to lean on.
For a heart I can rely on through anything.
For the one who I can run to.

(Chorus)
For a shield from the storm, for a friend, for a love to keep me safe and warm, I turn to you.
For the strength to be strong, for the will to carry on,
For everything you do, for everything that’s true, I turn to you.

Cheers!
SMR
Leave a Reply

