Choosing Your Friends

I don’t remember where I first heard or saw it, but I’ve always liked at the phrase:

“Friends are the family we choose for ourselves.”

And I’ve always believed in its validity.  But I’m not sure it’s been more clear to me than last weekend when one of my best friends got married.  

See, I’ve been invited to his family’s get-togethers and celebrations since I met my husband, as they’ve been buddies since age 14.  They are some of the kindest, most welcoming people I know, and we both consider ourselves blessed to have them in our lives and feel like adopted children/cousins. 

As I was looking around the reception venue toward the end of the evening after mingling with a variety of people throughout the night, I realized that I very much felt like I was at a family member’s wedding 🙂  It was similar to how I felt at my actual sister’s wedding earlier in the month, LOL.  

While this is more of an extreme example, it underscored that quote of mine above – that the friends we choose to have AND keep in our lives can and often do become as close as family. 

We have a handful of friends who we really do think of more as brothers and sisters, aunts and uncles, and heck even sometimes secondary parents.  We’d do anything for them at a moment’s notice, and we know they would do the same.  We’ve seen each other at our best and worst moments and everything in between.  We can enjoy a big day of plans or just an evening hanging out doing nothing but watching YouTube videos.  

I guess at the end of the day, recent events have just reminded me that I’m really lucky with the choices I’ve made in the friend department  🙂

Cheers!

SMR

  

2 thoughts on “Choosing Your Friends

  1. Stephanie – You made a very good point about friends. However, I think we are lucky to have family (Elsners and Woods) who are like friends, even though they are family! As you pointed out, that seemed
    obvious at Amy’s beautiful wedding.

    Like

Leave a Reply

