Better and Worse

Some days are better, some days are worse.  Look for the blessing instead of the curse.  Be positive, stay strong, and get enough rest.  You can’t do it all, but you can do your best.

I have no idea who said this or where exactly it originated, but I saw the quote above on Pinterest over the weekend and really liked it.

I admittedly try to ‘do it all’ too often.  I’m better now than I used to be, but I certainly have to check myself on this more frequently than I should, especially when it comes to putting others’ needs or wants before my own.

Another always-working-to-improve area for me is letting go of mistakes or challenges or when I feel like I’ve done something wrong (even if I really haven’t and it’s my own perception of the situation).  It’s not that I think I should be or need to be perfect – I never ever have been and never ever will be.  Rather, I think it has to do with always wanting to give everyone and everything my absolute best.

The saying above reminded me of another favorite quote from Ralph Waldo Emerson.  I’ve always kept it handy (sometimes even on a post-it on my desk) and have given it as a gift to a couple people.

“Finish each day and be done with it.  You have done what you could.  Some blunders and absurdities no doubt crept in; forget them as soon as you can.  Tomorrow is a new day.  Begin it serenely and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.”

Waaaay easier said than done – for me anyway.  But realizing your imperfections is the key.  Life’s always about learning and growing and bettering yourself, right?  Some days you’ll take two steps forward; others you’ll take a step or two back.  The important part is to keep moving on 🙂

Cheers!

SMR

Leave a Reply

