God Gave Me You

About five years ago, I sang Blake Shelton’s song “God Gave Me You” during the wedding ceremony of two of my dearest friends.  It was a very special moment I’ll never forget 🙂

I heard it on Monday for the first time in quite awhile, and darn it if it didn’t make me tear up immediately – both at the memory and because of the timing of hearing it at the beginning of this particular week.

The lyrics are quite sweet, and as the music video depicts, the overall theme of the song can apply in many situations – between parents and children, between friends, between spouses/significant others, and sometimes between perfect strangers.

It’s all about who God brings into our lives and when.

Some people will only be in your lives for a fleeting moment, others for years and years.  Some will be there in your brightest moments, others in your darkest days.  I myself believe that we don’t just cross paths with people just by accident – there’s always a reason.

Cheers to two of my bests – Happy Anniversary a bit early!  Love you both 🙂

“God Gave Me You” by Blake Shelton

I’ve been a walking heartache
I’ve made a mess of me
The person that I’ve been lately
Ain’t who I wanna be
But you stay here right beside me
Watch as the storm goes through
And I need you
CHORUS:
‘Cause God gave me you for the ups and downs
God gave me you for the days of doubt
For when I think I’ve lost my way
There are no words here left to say, it’s true
God gave me you
There’s more here than what were seeing
A divine conspiracy
That you, an angel lovely
Could somehow fall for me
You’ll always be love’s great martyr
And I’ll be the flattered fool
And I need you, yeah
(CHORUS)
On my own I’m only
Half of what I could be
I can’t do without you
We are stitched together
And what love has tethered
I pray we never undo
‘Cause God gave me you for the ups and downs
God gave me you for the days of doubt
God gave me you for the ups and downs
God gave me you for the days of doubt
And for when I think I’ve lost my way
There are no words here left to say, it’s true
God gave me you, gave me you
He gave me you
Leave a Reply

