Stand

My husband and I got a new-to-us car last weekend (eeeeek!!!), and one its features is an on-board CD library.  Essentially, you can store up to 20ish CDs in the car’s computer system and play them whenever you’d like.  Cool, huh?

So, as I’m driving the car last week, I decide to check out what was in the CD library at a stoplight and discover that the previous owner was a BIG fan of the country music group Rascal Flatts.  Literally, the only music stored were of that group 🙂

I flipped to one randomly and the very first song I heard was one that has a lot of meaning to me – “Stand”.

Back in January 2007, I wasn’t in a super great place.  There was some sad stuff going on with family, and I really didn’t like the job I was in (my first one out of college).  I was the unhappiest I had ever been, to be frank.

I had my iPod on random at work one afternoon, and a Rascal Flatts song I wasn’t super familiar with came on, “Stand”.  The melody grabbed my attention, and I stopped what I was doing to really listen to the song.  I was in tears by the end of it.  I guess it was kind of was the wake-up call I needed to realize that I was in control of my own life, and only me.  So if I wanted things to change, I had to do it myself instead of waiting for things to happen.

(In hindsight, it shouldn’t have taken a song for me to realize this, but whatevs – I was 22, fresh out of school, and living on my own in a brand new city where I didn’t know anyone.)

I’m glad I heard that song that day.  It inspired me to talk with people at work and change job tracks about a month later.  My new role was something that I really enjoyed and was really good at, steadily moving up the ranks for the next seven years.

I’ve shared the song with a couple friends over the years, too – particularly when I know they’re going through a rough patch.  Check out the lyrics below, and if they’re as impactful to you as they were to me, or you know someone who could use reading them, I encourage you to share them 🙂  

“Stand”, by Rascal Flatts

You feel like a candle in a hurricane
Just like a picture with a broken frame
Alone and helpless
Like you’ve lost your fight
But you’ll be alright, you’ll be alright

[Chorus:]
‘Cause when push comes to shove
You taste what you’re made of
You might bend, ’til you break
‘Cause it’s all you can take
On your knees you look up
Decide you’ve had enough
You get mad, you get strong
Wipe your hands, shake it off
Then you stand,
Then you stand

Life’s like a novel
With the end ripped out
The edge of a canyon
With only one way down
Take what you’re given before it’s gone
And start holding on, keep holding on

[Chorus:]
‘Cause when push comes to shove
You taste what you’re made of
You might bend ’til you break
‘Cause it’s all you can take
On your knees you look up
Decide you’ve had enough
You get mad, you get strong
Wipe your hands, shake it off
Then you stand,
Yeah, then you stand

Every time you get up
And get back in the race
One more small piece of you
Starts to fall into place

[Chorus:]
‘Cause when push comes to shove
You taste what you’re made of
You might bend ’til you break
‘Cause it’s all you can take
On your knees you look up
Decide you’ve had enough
You get mad, you get strong
Wipe your hands, shake it off
Then you stand,
Yeah, then you stand

Cheers!

SMR

 

Leave a Reply

