Must Always Remember

I just want everybody to be happy. That’s just me and who I am. It’s hard-wired in my DNA.

I’m a fixer, a worrier, an overanalyzer, a heavy-duty empathizer, and a protector when it comes to the most important people in my life šŸ™‚ And by extension also to the people who are important to MY people, whether I know them well or not.

I also want to be the best spouse, daughter, sister, friend, co-worker, etc that I can be, at all times.

Because of that, I often … okay, super often … neglect to remember this:

AND … through focusing so much energy on being whatever type of friend my people need, whenever they need it, I sometimes (okay, LOTS of times) forget to take care of ME … which should be equally as important as taking care of and looking out for others.

It’s kind of like the “secure your own oxygen mask first” instructions you get during the pre-flight safety rundown on an airplane, you know? You can’t help others well if you’re not putting yourself first.

Plus, in addition to it not being my job to be everything to everybody, it’s damn near impossible. Believe me, I’ve tried. Doesn’t usually end well.

Maybe it’s obvious to most, but maybe this can be a reminder for someone else, too šŸ™‚

This is just one of the lessons I’ve learned/re-learned/realized over the last year or so. More to come. Alllllmost finished with Part 1 – stay tuned!

Cheers,

SMR

One thought on “Must Always Remember

Leave a comment